Posted in Lifestyle

Top 5 Christmas Songs

I love getting myself in the mood on the run up to Christmas and what better way to get into the spirit than by putting on our favourite Christmas classic songs!
I love playing Christmas music while doing my housework, relaxing in the tub reading a book or even just watching a classic Christmas music video on YouTube because I haven’t seen the music video in a while.
Over the years there has been a lot of Christmas songs, some now classed as classics, some cheesy and some that just flopped. So in this Blog I thought I would share with you my ultimate favourite Christmas songs that I play year after year, enjoy just as much and still love listening to.

b-fairy-tale2
Fairy Tale Of New York – The Pogues with Kirsty Maccoll

Definitely my all time top favourite of all Christmas songs!
Written by Jem Finer and Shane MacGowan and first released as a single on 23rd November 1987 by their band The Pogues featuring singer-song writer Kirsty Maccoll. It is an Irish-folk style ballad and featured on The Pogues 1988 album If I Should Fall From Grace With God.

In my opinion it’s just a fantastic, well known Christmas classic, that everyone sings along to when heard and is played quite a lot even now and probably many more years to come.

all_i_want_for_christmas_is_you_mariah_carey

Mariah Carey – All I Want For Christmas Is You

A cheesy Christmas hit but a classic one too, another fantastic song that still gets everyone singing along once it’s played. I love listening to this song every year and to be honest Mariah Carey has such an incredible voice.
Mariah Carey wrote and produced the song with Walter Afanasieff . Columbia Records released it on 1st November 1994 as the lead single from her holiday album and fourth studio album, Merry Christmas.
The songs lyrics declare that the narrator does not care about Christmas presents or lights, all she wants for Christmas is to be with her lover.

Still heard being played even this year in homes, many shops and on the radio, it’s proven that it’s still a great…get in the spirit Christmas classic.

i-wish-it-could-be-christmas-everyday-wizzard

Wizzard – I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday

Better known for his extremely long white beard and being the lead vocalist of the Glam Rock Band Wizzard, Roy Wood wrote and produced this well known Christmas song which first released in December 1973 where it reached to number 4 in the charts and occupied that spot for four consecutive weeks between December 1973 to January 1974.
“I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday” is still being played throughout the Christmas period…year after year and it is indeed one of the most popular played Christmas Songs that never becomes old. Still a Christmas classic I enjoy listening to every year and always puts me in the mood and makes me look forward to Christmas.

bandaid

Band Aid 1984 – Do They Know It’s Christmas?

I absolutely love this song by Band Aid and I’m not ashamed to say that it always brings a tear to my eye listening to it every time I hear it.
Band Aid…a charity supergroup was formed in 1984 by Bob Geldof and Midge Ure to raise money for Ethiopa, featuring many mainly Irish and British musicians and recording artists and was recorded on 25th November 1984 and the single was release on 29th November 1984.
It in my opinion is a beautiful song that reminds us about the struggles some parts of Ethiopa face, it’s quite a sad song but a song that raised quite a lot of money to help them.
I love hearing it being played year after year and still as enjoyable as when it was first released.

lastchristmas

Wham – Last Christmas

Probably one of the most cheesiest songs ever to hit the charts at Christmas, but still a classic that is still being played every year.
Last Christmas is a song released by British pop duo Wham in 1984 and is an all time classic Christmas Classic, not one of my top favourites but I do still listen to it every year and hear it many shops still being played.

Which Christmas songs do you love the most?
Does certain Christmas songs get you in the spirit when hearing them?

Let me know which ones you love?!

All Comments, Likes and any Feedback are always appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to read my Blog.

merry-christmas-quotes-and-sayings-2014

Much luv.

wp-1476339507767.jpg

Author:

Full-time Muma & a Full-time Carer to my disabled husband. British Blogger & Snapchat Vlogger.

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Christmas Songs

Leave a Reply

