Posted in photography

What’s In My Photography Box?

Hey Lovely’s!
There’s nothing I love more than finding new and pretty item’s to add to my collection of Photography Props that I use for my Blog Photography, my Instagram flatley’s and any other Photography I create in my other Social Media sites.

So I thought it was about time I shared with you what I have collected so far and a few ways of creating your own collection and to show you that it doesn’t have to be expensive but can become very affective at making your Photography look so much better.

Captureblog
This is my Photography Prop Box that I keep the majority of my collection in, although it is getting kind of full now. All it is…is a Johnson’s Baby Box that I had kept from when my youngest child was a baby and I kept it because they are pretty handy for storage and they have a fab lock on the front to keep everything in place.

CaptureBlog1

For my background for most of my Photography, all I use is a plain white large Voile sheet, which you can pick up very cheap in most textile or material shops. You can use absolutely anything for a background and it doesn’t have to cost you a lot of money at all!
I also save Easter egg backing boards that you get inside the boxes of the large eggs and even chocolate boxes have an extra layered card in them, usually with some pretty pattern on it and I use these for when I only need a small area for 1 or 2 item’s to photograph.
You can also pick up free wallpaper samples from most diy places such as B&Q, Focus or even B&M’s which are also very effective. You can literally use anything around you or in cheap pound shops, bargain shops and even stationery shops will have some card or something similar you can use that will be very cheap to buy.

My top tip for backgrounds is: Use light colours. Dark colours don’t always work as well and can be hard for your subjects to show up on your photos. White/white patterns are my favourite to use.

wp-1463765543403.jpg
This is my other handy little sectioned box that I keep all my much smaller nik naks in like pompom balls, flowers, bits of beads from old jewellery, sequins, shiny things and many any other accessories that I find to add to my collection.
There is just so much out there that can buy, make, create and add to your collection that work so well at making your Blog Photography much better and you don’t have to spend a lot of money creating your own collection.


Ribbons, fake flowers, old pot purri and even shells from a trip to a beach are all fantastic to use as props for your photography also and they look so effective and pretty in your pictures.

wp-1463765597723.jpgwp-1463765664872.jpg
If you have been following my Blogs for a while, you will know how much I love anything that sparkles or glitters.
So when I spotted these beauties also from Home Bargains for less than £3 each, I had to have them. The Acrylic Diamonds are so so pretty, look amazing in Blog Photography and you can use them in endless amounts of ways in photography. They catch the light so well and look absolutely beautiful.
The diamante style ribbon is also really pretty and can also be used in a lot of ways. You can use the full strand or just a tiny amount in the corner edge of your photography, the choice is entirely up to you and your preference.

wp-1463765533349.jpg

Stationery/Office Items.
A lot of Bloggers I see do many Stationery posts, including future goals posts, Blog planners posts and even Bullet Journals. Stationery is such a cheap yet another effective way of displaying and using these as props in your Blog Photography.
You can find Stationery in endless amounts of colours to suit your needs and they look fantastic in your pictures. These I picked up again from Home Bargains and was only 99p which is amazing for how many you get in this full set and again have an endless amount of uses to display them however you like in your photos.


With Love TeaCup And Saucer
Saved the best until last as they say!
Because this is my most favourite recent purchase I picked up only last week from…yes you guessed it
Home Bargains  £2.79 ( You can tell where I love shopping the most! Haha!) I’m really excited to own this and very happy I spotted it. It just too cute for words really, I love so many things about this Teacup, I love how beautiful it looks and I love the gold detailing on it.
It is just gorgeous!!
Again there is so many uses you can get out of this for your photography, you can add items inside the cup or around the saucer and even just have the teacup displayed by itself if you wish.
I was actually very shocked at how cheap this was because I was expecting it to be quite pricey but it really wasn’t, yet it really does look like it would cost so much more.
This was definitely a bargain buy for me and I am looking forward to playing around with this in so many ways in my photography.

Another Little Tip!!
The best tip I can give you to end this Blog Post is Don’t over crowd your layout!
As much as you might love your collection of so many pretty things, putting too many pieces in your Blog Photography can make your pictures look too busy and cluttered.
Space out your items surrounding your subject, best of all use your imagination and just have fun with it and play around with all your items until you find the right positioning for them all.

Disclaimer:
I am not a professional in Photography, Editing or Blogging and although I have being doing Photography (self taught) for over 10+ years, I am not in any way certified or experienced.
These are just things that I myself have learnt along my mere 1 year of Blogging and also learnt from reading other people’s Blogs and picking up tips along the way.

What are your favourite items to use in your Blog Photography/Flatley’s?
Have you picked up anything that has caught your eye?
What bargains have you found to use in your Photography?

All Comments, Likes And any Feedback is always appreciated!

I hope you liked reading my Blog Post!
Thank you so much for reading it!

Much luv.

collage-2015-10-11-13_19_19-1.jpg.jpg

Author:

Full-time Muma & a Full-time Carer to my disabled husband. British Blogger & Snapchat Vlogger.

14 thoughts on “What’s In My Photography Box?

  1. This is such a great post. After watching your video on this I went out and bought a few extra props a large plastic storage box, a smaller one with individual sections and hunted around my home for things I could use. You gave me so many fab ideas and now I feel much more organised as they are all in one place. 🙂
    Sharon xx rosieloveslife.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow fantastic hun!! 😊💖 I’m so happy this Blog Post and my video has been so popular with other Bloggers like yourself.
      Thank you lovely and I’m so glad it has helped you. XoX

      Like

  2. This was such a great post! I have a photo props box too & find it’s the best way to keep the things I’m most likely to use regularly together. I’d never have thought to collect some cute stationery bits or ribbons, so you’ve given me some good ideas of what I’ll be on the look out for my box! I love the Acrylic Diamonds, I picked some up for myself when I saw them ‘cos I thought they’d make a fab prop for blog photos. Xx

    Tania | When Tania Talks

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much lovely! 💕 I love them Diamonds so much they look amazing in light too. It’s surprising just how much you can buy that is cheap yet so effective. I’m always on the look out for more now, I think I may need another box soon 😂😂 X

      Like

    1. Thanks hun! 💕 Yeah it’s surprising where you can find the simplest of things that work so well and doesn’t have to cost a lot of money for blog photography Xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

